The Interracial Misreckoning

When you involve yourself in Christian conversation with nonchristians eventually you’re bound to stumble upon the debate of interracial marriage.  This is more common between the older generation and that younger generation.  The past few weeks for me and my fiancé have been rough because we’ve faced many challenges and trials revolving around interracial marriage.  No, before the thought creeps in we are not an interracial couple but we have several friends and family that are.  Of course I could debate with you why we are all interracially or at least interethnically involved but that debate is for another blog.

What sparked this study for me was a situation my fiancé ran into but she brought to my attention.  She was instructed that interracial relationships were against Gods perfect will.  Which, I know, sounds racist to say the least.  I like to have solid biblical grounding to support what I knew couldn’t be biblically correct, and this person quoted 2 Corinthians 6:14 “Be he not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath the righteousness with the unrighteousness? And what communion hath the light with the dark?”  Obviously this person was making an assumed reference to the last part of the verse and I could go into detail but I think it’s fairly safe to leave it at: light equals saved persons vs dark meaning unsaved.  This alone doesn’t prove or disprove this persons statement though, if anything it leaves it open ended.

So I was talking to my dad and he said didn’t Moses marry and Ethopian?  I didn’t have a clue.  So I checked.  My search took me back to the little chapter in the Old Testament Numbers 12.  This chapter tells us that Moses married a Cushite.  Cush being in southern or south of Ethopia and the inhabitants known for their exceptionally dark skin, which is supported in Jeremiah 13:23 “Can the Ethiopian change his skin or the leopard his spots”.  What this chapter also tells us is that Miriam and Aaron spoke against Moses for marrying an Ethiopian, followed by God punishing her for speaking against Moses, with leprosy.

Which raises 2 final points.  First, racism and racial discourse has been going on for many many years, and it’s ludicrous to assume that it’s against Gods perfect will for interracial relationships to exist.  Let alone verses supporting that skin isn’t a factor for God in general, and verses supporting being married to believers (those verses never mentioning skin color). Second, if we wish to end discourse things like race have to stop being a factor…for all races.

And so, I end with a quote in fact my favorite quote of all time

“We are not enemies, but friends.  We must not be enemies.  Though passion may have strained, it must not break our bonds of affection, the mystic chords of memory will swell when again touched, as surely they will be, by the better angels of our nature” -Lincoln 1861

Leave a Reply

